The Imperial Boarding Party – Week 6 (Creating Darth Vader – Week 2)

“…Most displeased with your apparent lack of progress”
Darth Vader – Return of the Jedi

I’ll quickly start off by saying that this week has been a bit of a slow one sadly because this week I was pretty busy and unfortunately didn’t have a lot of time to work on this project which is a bit of a bummer. This weekend I’ve had two long shifts at work leaving me no time during the day to get cracking on with this but I won’t let a slow week get in the way and throw me off!

This week however I’ve been working on sculpting Darth Vader’s undersuit that will require a little more time to add more detail and get right. It’s been a bit of a slow process and I’ve been going back and forth a lot with this to try and get the best results. Initially I tried sculpting and trying to relearn Mudbox along the way… it didn’t seem right then I tried modelling on top of the Mudbox human model in 3DS Max and that wasn’t really working either for me so I bit a bullet and continued sculpting in Mudbox trying to get the best I could and looking at as much reference I could to see the proportions of the suit while trying to make the suit a little bulkier to get a similar Vader feel.

This week on the Tuesday I found out that I’ve been given a spot to exhibit my project at ExpoTees this year in May which I’m pretty happy with but after hearing that both ILM (Industial Light and Magic) and Lucasfilm attending I just hope that my work will hopefully impress them because I don’t want to get burnt by the companies that have made the film franchise I love, that wouldn’t be good.
Due to ExpoTees I have to rearrange my schedule again to fit the extra pieces of work I have to do for the exhibition. I’ll be needing to produce a brochure image by the 29th March and I’d like to have a nice render of a completed asset (probably not skinned and rigged though) to go into the brochure so I think this week coming I’ll work on sorting my Stormtrooper model out so that I can have a nice textured asset to show off in the brochure. So the week I originally set to texturing both Vader and the trooper will be on finishing off modelling Vader and texturing him during that week instead.

I’ll keep my progress posted on here like always of what I get up to and by the next blog I should have finished texturing my TK and have more work done on the Dark Lord.
Sorry for the lack of pictures this week! I’ll be sure to whack some up once I’m happy with the undersuit.

Leave a comment