The Imperial Boarding Party – Week 2 (Building a Stormtrooper)

Week 2 of my Final Year Project has been going pretty well! I got some nice and assuring feedback on my E-11 Blaster during the practical session on the Monday which was nice to hear because I now know that I’m going in the right direction and that I’m doing well with my progress. Some minor tweaks needed to be made to small parts of my blaster to help further cut down polygons in the model which originally sat over 1.4 million polys in the high poly model and now stands around 26,500.

Blog1.png

This week though I’ve mainly been focusing on modelling my Stormtrooper for the diorama.
The Stormtrooper

For the Stormtrooper so far I’ve mainly been focusing on doing his armour this week focusing torso, butt and crotch as well as the holster for the trooper’s blaster.
During the week I have modelled the front section of the Belt, the Thermal Detonator, the “Posterior” Armour, Kidney Armour,  E-11 Blaster Holster and have the Chest and Abdomen armour pieces as works in progress. Every piece of armour, the detonator and holster all have a high and low poly variant which I’ll show during my practical session tomorrow for some feedback plus ask for some feedback on my work in progress pieces of armour. I’ve been using a default Male mesh from Autodesk’s Mudbox as a mannequin for the armour and to save on some time I’ll probably use this mesh as a base for the undersuit of the Stormtrooper and sculpt on top of it to simulate the cloth undersuit and straps which hold the trooper’s armour together.

Pieces that still require to be modelled so far are:
The Legs and Shoes
The Arms and Gloves
The Helmet and neck seal

Once the WIP pieces are complete I will move on to finishing the body armour first and then move on to modelling the Stormtroopers’ helmet. Once all of that is done it’ll be getting unwrapped, baked and textured followed either by rigging or I’ll move straight onto Darth Vader and skin and rig both characters together (not literally together but after the modelling is complete).

Here’s some screenshots of the progress and models so far!

 

One thought on “The Imperial Boarding Party – Week 2 (Building a Stormtrooper)”

  1. Hello Justin – As discussed in class you have made consitent progress thus far. You’ve finished the model to the blaster and have started the Storm Trooper. There are issues with some of the edge loop flow in the chest plate which you plan to address as well as with how pronounced the “chest” is… try to tackle this soon. You have also modelled out a good part of the rest of armour and will be moving on to the helmet next week. Great progress! If possible lets see if you can get started on the helmet this week – let’s try to get ahead of the schedule 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment