The Imperial Boarding Party – Week 1

This week I’ve been busy finishing the high poly model of the Stormtrooper’s E-11 Blaster for my diorama scene for my Final Year Project, making a Gantt Chart to keep track of my progress as well as making a low poly variant of the Blaster so that I can bake my high poly to my low poly asset.

First Hand-In Complete!
This Friday (10th Feb) was our first hand-in for our FYP which was based around our proposal for the project, I didn’t really need to alter mine too much after going over it in the practical sessions with my supervisor but I put in some screenshots of the Gantt Chart I made and also tweaked an existing asset list I made so that I an asset list for both of the scene ideas I mentioned in my first post here on my blog and in my proposal. I managed to get that handed in during Friday afternoon, which was quite nice to do instead of rushing to get it done.

The Blaster
On Thursday this week I managed to complete my high poly E-11 (which I done a blog post about, scroll down to find out what I had to say about it!) and today I managed to get the low poly version of it complete also! I was hoping to have got the high poly bake and UV unwrap done by the end of this week too but unfortunately with being busy at home I wasn’t able to so I might have to either spend one or two more days on the Blaster to get it done or move onto modelling the armour and come back to the bakes and unwraps when I do the Stormtrooper’s armour. I’ll probably speak about it to my supervisor in my practical session on Monday morning.
Here’s some screenshots comparing the high and low poly models of the blaster!
Though some parts of the blaster couldn’t be reduced in polys due to having Booleans applied to the mesh.

Shadedhl-e11-1

Wireframe Perspectivehl-e11-2

Wireframe Tophl-e11-3

Wireframe Backhl-e11-4

Asset List: asset-list-scene-1
Gantt Chart: gantt-chart
Finished Proposal: p4111309_justin_grace_fyp-proposal

 

One thought on “The Imperial Boarding Party – Week 1”

  1. Hello Justin – Here is your feedback from today 13/02/2017:
    Blog – Complete
    Proposal – Complete
    Gantt Chart – Complete

    To Do list:
    Review/ revise Topology on Blaster ( remember post-Turbosquid optimization )
    Update your Asset List – with current status of assets

    Congrats on progress!

    Like

Leave a comment